Books of the New Testament

The New Testament is the second major portion of the Bible comprising 27 books that are written after the birth of Jesus Christ. While the Old Testament was written in Hebrew, the New Testament was written primarily in Greek with small portions in Aramaic. They were written by the early followers of Jesus.

The physician Luke was the contributor of the largest portion of the New Testament with his writing of the Gospel of Luke and Acts of the Apostles. Another major contributor was the Apostle Paul, who wrote many of the epistles found at the end of the New Testament. The New Testament is divided into these main divisions:

  • Four gospels narrating the life of Jesus Christ
  • One narrative of the time of the early church
  • 21 letters (also called epistles) from various writers
  • One apocalypse book detailing events of the last days of the world

Find out what are the main themes of these New Testament books.

Close window